A TALE OF TWO TREES   Leave a comment

            In the fall of 2015 I planted two very small trees in my yard –  a red crepe myrtle and a vitex or chaste tree –  and was so excited for what would be in the spring.  Shortly after, the cows got into my yard during the night and chewed on the chaste tree and trampled it until there was only a nub remaining.  I was so upset, but then the next spring, I could see life in the little nub.  Sprouts of new growth appeared, and that summer there were blooms and bees.  It is now the spring of 2017, and I checked on the chaste tree this morning.  It is healthy and continues to grow.  I know it is going to be a beautiful tree.

Vitex or Chaste Tree

The red crepe myrtle also was healthy and growing the spring of 2016.

Then construction began late that year on my new house.  Towards the end of construction in 2017, a big truck backed into my yard for a delivery and ran over the red crepe myrtle, ripping off tender little limbs.  I checked on it this morning, and the story is the same as the chaste tree.  There is new life, and this tree also will be fine, perhaps better than before.

 

Jesus reminds me this morning that we too must be rooted and grounded in God’s love, receiving his love and returning love and adoration to him.  If we would but do this then, no matter what sorrows and tragedies we may experience, this love of receiving and returning will heal and restore us to new life.  We are able to overcome all things in full knowledge that God is in us and we are in Him. Also, acts of mercy will flow from our hearts spontaneously.  As a Franciscan, I believe it is so important to BE before we try to DO.

For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom every family in heaven and on earth is named, that he may grant you in accord with the riches of his glory to be strengthened with power through his Spirit in the inner self, and that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, rooted and grounded in love, may have strength to comprehend with all the holy ones what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ that surpasses knowledge, so that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.

Now to him who is able to accomplish far more than all we ask or imagine, by the power at work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus to all generations, forever and ever. Amen.  Ephesians 3:14-21.

Posted April 11, 2017 by ouidaofs in Love, Prayer

Leave a comment