Tears of God Is Here   Leave a comment

I have marked in my Bible a very special date at Sirach 2.  The date is May 8, 1992.  I was a Protestant at the time but in the process of seeking information for an annulment so that I might be accepted to convert to the Catholic Church.  I made an appointment with Sr. Veronica Miceli, O.P, as she was a friend and served the Archdiocese of New Orleans for annulments.  When I arrived in her office, she called to say that she was delayed in traffic on the North Shore from New Orleans.  I told her that I would wait.

I felt that I was in a very holy place early on, as I waited, and could sense a stong presence of the Holy Spirit.  Sister’s Bible was in front of me on her desk so I decided to read, opening to the Sirach passage below.  Immediately I felt overwhelmed with God’s presence within me and began to pour out my heart with tears and tears and more tears.  These were not tears of sadness or joy but tears of God is here.

Such was the state I was in when Sister arrived, and we both realized that she was meant to be late because God was on time.

Trust in God

My child, when you come to serve the Lord, prepare yourself for trials.

Be sincere of heart and steadfast, and do not be impetuous in time of adversity.

Cling to him, do not leave him, that you may prosper in your last days.

Accept whatever happens to you; in periods of humiliation be patient.

For in fire gold is tested, and the chosen, in the crucible of humiliation.

Trust in God, and he will help you; make your ways straight and hope in him.

You that fear the Lord, wait for his mercy, do not stray lest you fall.

Sirach 2:1-7,

New American Bible, revised edition

Posted July 19, 2013 by ouidaofs in Convert, Holy Spirit, Prayer

Leave a Reply

